Executive Board

Naomi Perales
Community Relations Manager, Texas Gas Service Company (President)

Julian Alvarez
President & CEO, Rio Grande Valley Partnership Chamber of Commerce, Weslaco (Vice President)

Gisela Figueroa, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Chancellor for Financial Services
Texas State Technical College Harlingen (Treasurer)

Theresa A. (Teri) Alarcon
Area Assistant Superintendent, Hanna Cluster, Brownsville ISD

Irving (Irv) Downing
Associate Vice President Economic Development and Interim Associate Vice President Institutional Advancement,
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Lisa Garcia, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools, Point Isabel ISD

Gregg McCumber, CPA
Senior Tax Partner and Managing Partner, Burton, McCumber & Cortez, LLP, Brownsville

Nolan E. Perez, M.D.
President, Gastroenterology Consultants of South Texas, P.A., Harlingen

Gabriel Puente
Publisher, RGVision Publications

Gonzalo Salazar
Superintendent of Schools, Los Fresnos CISD

Perry A. Vaughn
Executive Director, Rio Grande Valley Chapter, Associated General Contractors of America, Inc., Harlingen


Alda T. Benavides, Ed. D.
Superintendent of Schools, La Joya ISD

Alonzo Cantu
Chairman and Director, Lone Star National Bank, and Owner, Cantu Construction, McAllen

Rene Capistran
Principal Regional Director, Noble General Contractors, Brownsville

Thomas Dearmin
Manager, Electrical Department, Halff Associates, McAllen

Luis Figueroa, AIA
Principal, ROFA Architects, Inc., McAllen

Marti Flores, Ed.D.
Vice President of Instruction, Texas Southmost College, Brownsville

Cornelio Gonzalez, Ph. D.
Executive Director, Region One ESC, Edinburg

Charles Lackey, Ph.D.
Dean of Graduate Studies, The University of Texas at Brownsville

Ricardo Lopez, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools, Mission CISD

Mario Reyna
Dean of Business and Technology, South Texas College

Alex Meade
CEO, Mission Economic Development Corporation, Mission

Rebecca L. Silva, Ph.D.
Vice President for Student Learning, Texas State Technical College Harlingen

Sandy Vasquez
In-Store Branch Sales Officer, Security First Credit Union, Edinburg

Manuel (Manny) Vela
President and CEO, Valley Baptist Health System, Harlingen

 Associate Board

Albert G. Chronis
Project Manager, SpawGlass

Adrian Dorsett
Vice President - South Texas Career and Technical Education Association (Career and Technical Education Director, Brownsville ISD

Laura Lara, AIA
Senior Project Architect, University of Texas System, Rio Grande Valley Office of Facilities Planning and Construction, Harlingen

Blanca Munoz
Community Volunteer (former Deputy Superintendent of South Texas ISD), Weslaco

Felipe C. Salinas
Grant Writer, Division of University Advancement, The University of Texas-Pan American, Edinburg

Directors Emeritus

Eduardo A. Campirano

Port Director and CEO, Brownsville Navigation District/Port of Brownsville

Ray Elledge
Division Manager, Texas Commercial Energy, Harlingen (retired)

Cesar Maldonado, Ph.D., P.E., PMP
Chancellor, Houston Community College System, Houston

Hollis V. Rutledge, Jr.
President and CEO, Hollis Rutledge and Associates, Inc., Mission

Ed Tamayo
Executive Vice President, First Community Bank, Harlingen (retired)

Linda Wade, Ph.D.
Superintendent of Schools, Harlingen CISD (retired)

RGV LEAD - Linking Economic & Academic Development © 2013